Killer of Kings

Killer of Kings AD Anglo Saxon Britain A gripping action packed historical thriller and the fourth instalment in The Bernicia Chronicles Perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell Beobrand has land men and riches He
  • Title: Killer of Kings
  • Author: Matthew Harffy
  • ISBN: -
  • Page: 377
  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • Killer of Kings
    AD 636 Anglo Saxon Britain A gripping, action packed historical thriller and the fourth instalment in The Bernicia Chronicles Perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell Beobrand has land, men and riches He should be content And yet he cannot find peace until his enemies are food for the ravens But before Beobrand can embark on his bloodfeud, King Oswald orders him southwaAD 636 Anglo Saxon Britain A gripping, action packed historical thriller and the fourth instalment in The Bernicia Chronicles Perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell Beobrand has land, men and riches He should be content And yet he cannot find peace until his enemies are food for the ravens But before Beobrand can embark on his bloodfeud, King Oswald orders him southward, to escort holy men bearing sacred relics When Penda of Mercia marches a warhost into the southern kingdoms, Beobrand and his men are thrown into the midst of the conflict Beobrand soon finds himself fighting for his life and his honour In the chaos that grips the south, dark secrets are exposed, bringing into question much that Beobrand had believed true Can he unearth the answers and exact the vengeance he craves Or will the blood price prove too high, even for a warrior of his battle fame and skill
    Killer of Kings By Matthew Harffy,
    • [AZW] ↠ Killer of Kings | BY ☆ Matthew Harffy
      377 Matthew Harffy
    • thumbnail Title: [AZW] ↠ Killer of Kings | BY ☆ Matthew Harffy
      Posted by:Matthew Harffy
      Published :2020-01-26T09:38:49+00:00

    About " Matthew Harffy "

  • Matthew Harffy

    Matthew Harffy lived in Northumberland as a child and the area had a great impact on him The rugged terrain, ruined castles and rocky coastline made it easy to imagine the past Decades later, a documentary about Northumbria s Golden Age sowed the kernel of an idea for a series of historical fiction novels The first of them is the action packed tale of vengeance and coming of age, THE SERPENT SWORD The sequel is THE CROSS AND THE CURSE.Matthew has worked in the IT industry, where he spent all day writing and editing, just not the words that most interested him Prior to that he worked in Spain as an English teacher and translator Matthew lives in Wiltshire, England, with his wife and their two daughters.

  • 970 Comments

  • I read and loved the first book in this series, The Serpent Sword, somehow missed the second and third books, and read and loved this, the fourth in the Bernica Chronicles Not to worry, because I will catch up on them at some point, and they are perfectly readable as stand alone books Set in AD626 in Anglo Saxon Britain, Beobrand finds himself fighting in the south for both his life and his honor Harffy writes about conflict and battle with a gritty realism The Serpent Sword was one of the first [...]


  • Book four, I have been following Beobrand s trail of vengeance now for two years It is a trail filled with death, destruction and devastation I have witnessed Beobrand grow from a young green warrior into a leader of men.What I really like about Harffy s writing is the fact that he keeps it real Many authors want to romanticize history, flower it up and create an unrealistic image Harffy is writing about a dark time in history, his characters are not only gritty, they are dirty they live a hard [...]


  • Killer of Kings a must read 4th book in the Bernicia ChroniclesRecommended read Bloodfeud and revenge, war and love A thrilling tale that sees Beobrand at his finest yet 5


  • I received the copy on Netgalley but it took a bit to read it Perhaps peace was this hollow emptiness he felt, but he did not believe so His nights were yet filled with dreams of blood and death, leaving him sweat drenched and shaking I have read Killer of Kings in one day, just as Harffy s other books in the series because I just cannot put them down until I m done Starting the book with a murder of two ex heirs and maybe still legal heirs is a bit risky It raised my expectations, and yet I was [...]


  • I received a free EArc from Netgalley.Killer of Kings is the fourth full length novel in The Bernicia Chronicles, but only the third that I ve read, although I ve also read the short story that accompanies the series which I actually enjoyed than the full length novels because it was about Beobrand s brother, who seems to be a wee bit cheerier than poor grumpy Beobrand.Killer of Kings starts very strongly the short prologue is excellent and I thought, because of what happens in it, that it was [...]


  • My book review So Beobrand and his war band are off on another quest and find themselves in serious shit again Unfortunately, I was unable to five star this book because of the Author s lack of writing skills in regards to timing Often, the most suspenseful and action packed scenes were continuously, and annoyingly , timed to occur around 2 00 in the morning or so making it very difficult to stay awake Beobrand is on the cusp of learning some major information about himself and the next thing I [...]


  • It really shouldn t come as a great surprise to me these days, but it still does.What Well, that Matthew Harffy s books and stories get better with each new edition Better story, better character development, better writing, better in every single way you want a Historical Fiction book to be better Maybe it s because I was fortunate enough to be in at the start, with Matthew sending me a copy of his first self published book The Serpent Sword, back in the day There, the potential and promise was [...]


  • By the time an author has put out a series of books that I have fallen in love with, totally buying into it as a reader, I have every expectation that the next book in the series will not disappoint It would take a lot for me not to love something that continues a saga already having a life of its own within the halls of my imagination While I can think of one or two series that have declined over its too long lived life, the Bernicia Chronicles is certainly not one of these series Killer of Kin [...]


  • Beo s back and this one is just as brutal as it s predecessors Beobrand is older but still as sharp and hot headed as always.Old enemies show their faces again but this time Beobrand might actually be able to rid himself of them.at ever present shadow looming over him.War is coming and while on a mission for Oswald Beo is sucked in and the bloodlust takes holds s time for a blood feud to be settled.We get a great mix of action and suspense as the focus switches from Brobrand to Reaghan back home [...]


  • He does not think of himself as a hero, yet in the ale houses they sing of his battles and activities from his first skirmishes up until his present actions in recent battles Harffy writes him well, develops his character as he grows into the hardened warrior he has become Kings, Eorls and Lords know his name and his fame Although torn and tormented within he is a champion amongst men.As with the previous novels Beobrand fights mostly for the honour and safety of others The story lines are compe [...]


  • Beobrand, mighty warrior, lord of his own hall, leader of his own war band but still tormented by events in the past Sent by King Oswald on a seemingly innocent mission finds himself embroiled in war and conflict He also finds that the main tormentor, the man he has pledged to kill, is among the foes arrayed against him In this latest installment of The Bernicia Chronicles, the author has taken this rash, headstrong, Dark Age warrior, and as he has done throughout this series has turned up the a [...]


  • Review What can i say that i have not already said about this series Full review and extract parmenionbooks.wordpress


  • Killer of Kings is an enjoyable addition to Matthew Harffy s Bernicia Chronicles From the time I read The Serpent Sword I have been hooked, and it has been quite the adventure watching Beobrand go from young, arrogant warrior to husband fatherd admittedly, he remains an arrogant warrior if he is now one with scars, aches, and regrets.In this installment, Beobrand comes up against foes that he is powerless to claim victory over What I love about this series is that, in the midst of violence and g [...]


  • I enjoyed it action and adventure for Beobrand We see the resolution of certain plot lines with new ones coming up It looks like there are plans to turn this into a long series of books My biggest criticism is that the main character s ongoing self hatred is getting a little tiring Perhaps some character evolution leading to self acceptance, or at least new dimensions to his old turmoil would encourage me to keep reading the series in the long term Still I m still likely to want to read next b [...]


  • Engrossing historical fictionBeobrand rides far in this fourth book in the series, and of course fights in the shield wall again.Blood is spilled, loss ensues, friendships grow stronger, blood feuds take another turn.The time period was one I knew little about when I began the series, but by now it is much familiar Beobrand and his following are a window to a fiercer time, yet people are people and the longing for revenge, God, and love still remain.Please do yourself a favor and read this seri [...]


  • Another fabulous page turner from the pen of Matthew Harffy I really enjoyed being immersed once again into Beobrand s world Looking forward to the next book


  • Another good one A great plot with plenty of twists I kept thinking I knew what was coming, but missed most of my predictions A troubled hero makes for a great read.


  • The saga continuesLike the others this book has its battles, intrigues and twists You learn a lot about Beobrand and are taken back to Britain in the dark ages Did find it slows , but picks up pace towards the end You are left with a cliff hanger over a name given.


  • This book has received a Discovering Diamonds Review Helen Hollickfounder DDRevs A definite must for Anglo Saxon readers who like their heroes to be truly heroic


  • For those of you who enjoyed Bernard Cornwell s The Saxon Series, I think you will enjoy the Bernicia Chronicles as well.


  • Another amazing storyThis series gets better and better The battle scenes were amazing and plentiful I am looking forward to the next installment.


  • Post Your Comment Here

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *