Monsieur

Monsieur Meet Monsieur your hero a successful young executive in Paris whosedaily life you will follow in precise detail He is nothing if notunremarkable Meet his secretary his nieces his fianc e and herpa
  • Title: Monsieur
  • Author: Jean-Philippe Toussaint
  • ISBN: 9781564785053
  • Page: 292
  • Format: Paperback
  • Monsieur
    Meet Monsieur, your hero, a successful young executive in Paris whosedaily life you will follow in precise detail He is nothing if notunremarkable Meet his secretary, his nieces, his fianc e and herparents, his neighbor whose scientific reports Monsieur unwittinglytypes out What will happen This and that Monsieur will attend aparty He will babysit But most of all, MMeet Monsieur, your hero, a successful young executive in Paris whosedaily life you will follow in precise detail He is nothing if notunremarkable Meet his secretary, his nieces, his fianc e and herparents, his neighbor whose scientific reports Monsieur unwittinglytypes out What will happen This and that Monsieur will attend aparty He will babysit But most of all, Monsieur will muse, and so willyou muse, on everything from the night sky to a Rotring pen And itwill be very funny Here Toussaint turns the ordinary into theextraordinary, an unremarkable anti hero into a deadpan wit.
    Monsieur By Jean-Philippe Toussaint,
    • BEST MOBI "✓ Monsieur" || DOWNLOAD (EPUB) ↠
      292 Jean-Philippe Toussaint
    • thumbnail Title: BEST MOBI "✓ Monsieur" || DOWNLOAD (EPUB) ↠
      Posted by:Jean-Philippe Toussaint
      Published :2020-04-10T14:32:10+00:00

    About " Jean-Philippe Toussaint "

  • Jean-Philippe Toussaint

    Jean Philippe Toussaint born 29 November, 1957, Brussels is a Belgian prose writer and filmmaker His books have been translated into than twenty languages and he has had his photographs displayed in Brussels and Japan Toussaint won the Prix M dicis in 2005 for his novel Fuir The 2006 book La m lancolie de Zidane Paris Minuit, 2006 is a lyrical essay on the headbutt administered by the French football player Zinedine Zidane to the Italian player Marco Materazzi during the 2006 World Cup final in Berlin An English translation was published in 2007 in the British journal New Formations His 2009 novel La V rit sur Marie won the prestigious Prix D cembre.

  • 309 Comments

  • A quiet little book, Monsieur is a series of vignettes that describes a brief time in the life of an introverted, quiet man Monsieur is a man of set habits, mild speech, and socially awkward worries Over the course of the story, several things occur that Monsieur seems to passively agree to let happen to him, with intermittently amusing results Topics as diverse as the scientific properties of crystals, a lycee in Chartres before the war, physics and time and the soothing capacity of stars are a [...]


  • The eponymous Monsieur wends his way down the Lazy River of life unencumbered by Qualities, unconsummated by ambition, but concocted of Common and convivial of trite.Toussaint glorifies a life most banal, a man so unassuming he isn t assigned a name, a man who perambulates the torrents of the quotidian by bending with the remover to remove Have I come across this trope before A Nonesuch as Monsieur An ode to the Sublime of Ordinary No, no, and no and thus, 5 stars for the novelty value.I actuall [...]


  • There s something strange going on in Toussaint I haven t quite put my finger on it yet, but I love it Is it the accumulative effect of reading three of his books now, or is it this particular book I find myself not just a happy reader any I ve become infected by Toussaint s peculiar turn of mind, and I need to get a little closer to understanding the main crisis at work in his stories Is there a main crisis My theory is that this book is a reaction to the mundane rituals and language and object [...]


  • Toussaint s unassuming hero known only as Monsieur embodies what Taoism terms the uncarved block Apparently simple minded and utterly passive, he nevertheless keeps his head above water without effort and comes out of even the worst situations displaying a mystifying sense of contentment He s a little bit Winnie the Pooh, a little bit silent film comedian, and all enigma.


  • Very French Cold and impersonal for most of the book, but interesting it it s strangely disinterested manner of delving deeply into the life of a person only known in the book as Monsieur Like Beckett in someways, but with science thrown in, which I think is supposed to be important, but I just didn t spend enough time thinking about the ramifications of quantum theory on the narrative structure of the book My loss I m sure.



  • For some reason this sent me into an unforeseen spiral of despair over the futility of the star rating system So no stars for you, Monsieur But I did like you.


  • This review originally appeared on the literay weblog The Elegant Variation on June 16, 2008 aka Bloomsday, which is why it repeatedly references James Joyce s Ulysses Although June 16 is called Bloomsday after the chief protagonist of James Joyce s modernist masterpiece, you could be forgiven for forgetting about poor old Leopold.After all, Ulysses first hundred pages or so are dominated by Stephen Dedalus, a stretch so stylistically baroque many readers skip ahead to Molly Bloom s saucy monolo [...]


  • Knappe, minimalistische vertelling over een slome moderne man zonder wil of wilskracht Er gebeurt weinig of niets in deze roman, maar Toussaint slaagt er op wonderlijke wijze toch in de aandacht van de lezer vast te houden Ik zag ooit met plezier de film die Toussaint maakte van zijn eigen roman dus toen ik een tijd terug tijdens het boekenjagen de roman in handen kreeg, graaide ik die meteen mee Boek en film, dik in orde.



  • Afuckingmazing At the office, when things weren t busy, Monsieur went downstairs to the cafeteria and read the paper Across from him in the glass entrance hall, here and there, small flower pots boasted benjamina or papyrus, and two or three receptionists, quite another matter, talked on the telephone behind the circular counter Often, before going back up to his office, Monsieur, going round the counter, good afternoon ladies, stood for a while in front of the aquarium and watched the fish with [...]


  • K t.Bir iki durum komedisi an ve diyalog var, fena olmayan Ama kitab n b t n n sevemedim, okurken pek keyif alamad m Bu kitaptan 45 dk l k abs rt Frans z filmi kar, o kadar Filmi seyredersin belki ama kitap benim a mdan iyi de il.Bug ne de in hep be enece imi bildi im kitaplar ald m, burada da y ld zlar verirken bonk r davrand m o y zden Bu kitab Ayr nt Yay nlar n n indirimli kitaplar kampanyas i inde 1.5 TL olarak yaz yla birbu uk g rd m i in alm t m steyene kargo ile hediye edebilirim.


  • A dead pan comedy about an apparently affectless man, Monsieur, a cipher who seemingly is buffeted along the course of his life, often passively giving in to demands placed upon him by strangers, family members, and his employer But Monsieur is intelligent, if befuddled by the need to speak and act His work has been apparently compared to that of Beckett and Jarmusch, and rightfully so all is absurdity And yet, for Monsieur, in the end, once can still find melancholy joy.


  • The distinctly uneventful narrative of a nameless protagonist s day to day to day routine Monsieur, who stumbles into situation after situation without control or ill will is a kind of silent comedian here as he somersaults through the storyline, each tumble absurd than the last Major plot lines include a bruised arm, some serious ping pong playing, and inadvertently co authoring an unfinished book on mineralogy For fans of Jim Jarmusch, Talking Heads lyrics and Jacques Tati s Mr Hulot


  • Not my favorite of Toussaint s it lacks the romance and wanderlust of his best novellas but, as ever, his writing is hypnotic and his eye toward crafting scenes is excellent There are some charming surprises in this lean narrative, which is a bit like The Mezzanine mixed with Bartelby the Scrivener, though not quite as thrilling as that combination sounds For the completionists.


  • Kendi k k d nyas na s k m birey n yava ve yaln z ilerleyen ya am ndan bir kesit anlat yor kitap.Her ey olmas gerekti i gibi i evi ni anl s Dayat lan seylere pasif direni ise sandalyeye oturup oylece durma s resinin atmas ile oluyor.


  • Gave up What passes for Taoist acceptance is called boredom in my house Dull Not recommended Read Raymond Carver instead.



  • Objectively, it is well written and concise But I guess I just didn t like that style and while I like concise I felt that it was maybe too concise for me to get it.





  • Monsieur just seems to drift through life doing what other people want him to, which leads to him moving apartment and also assisting to write a book about minerals.



  • For my review of this and Camera, as well as The Customer is Always Wrong by someone else , go here jeffbursey downloads Q


  • Another strange little book, like a snapshot into a small world of restraint and deliberate thought, the story of a man and of his evasive activities In French.



  • An unassuming fellow known only as Monsieur does nothing particularly remarkable, but Toussaint is able to make this anti hero and fascinating and witty protagonist.



  • Post Your Comment Here

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *